Recent Awards

Our team is proud to be recognized for excellence in journalism and for our public service work. While the list is long, here are some of our most recent and notable accomplishments:

WKBT News 8 has been honored in 2020 with four awards from the Midwest Broadcast Journalism Association. Competing against similar-sized stations across six Midwestern states, the WKBT news team was awarded for Broadcast Writing– Jordan Fremstad compilation, Hard Feature-One Last Hope, Investigate Journalism-News 8 Investigates Student-Athletes: Who’s at Risk?, and TV Weather– Bill Graul compilation.

The radio stations in Platteville, Wisconsin, and Dubuque, Iowa, were recognized in May 2020 by the Wisconsin Association Of Broadcasters, presenting the stations with a total of eleven WBA Awards of Excellence. Accolades include Best Live On-Site Broadcast Remote-Lilly-Kid’s Day At The Fair, Best Online Personality-Harsh Reality with Johnny Page, Best Use Of Audio (Non-News)-Interview With Santa 25th Anniversary, Best Public Service Announcement-SWTC Monster Bash, Best WebsiteWGLR.COM, Best Use Of Social Media WGLR Facebook, Best Client Event Promo – Jordon Davis Concert, amongst others.

Madison Magazine had an award-winning year in 2020. The monthly publication was recognized nationally for 2020 work after winning General Excellence, the top award at the 36th Annual National City and Regional Magazine Association Awards. Regionally, Madison Magazine brought home nine awards in 2020 from the Milwaukee Press Club’s Awards for Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism Competition: five gold awards for best single cover design, best single story or feature design, best illustration or cartoon and best overall design; two silver awards for best single cover design and best long soft feature story; and two bronze awards for best long soft feature story and best explanatory story or series.

On the TV side, WISC-TV in Madison has won five national Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association. The station has also won several Midwest Emmy Awards and has been named News Operation of the Year and Station of the Year several times by the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association. In May 2021, they were awarded two Regional Murrow awards. One for Hard News, and a second for Overall Excellence, which measures a station’s coverage of breaking news, continuing coverage, feature stories, web presence, and newscasts valuing depth and scope of coverage. The station also won the award for Overall Excellence in 2020.

KXLY-TV in Spokane has won numerous regional Emmy Awards, including honors for Best Newscast, Best News Series, Best Team Coverage, Best Same Day Hard News Coverage and Best Feature. Regional Murrow Awards have included recognition for Continuing Coverage, Writing and Editing.

Public service and community support are vibrant at KAPP-TV in Yakima, Washington, and KVEW-TV in Kennewick, Washington, where we feature local communities in an “Our Town” series, as well as support those in need through our Christmas Wish efforts.

In Texas, the Victoria Chamber of Commerce has recognized the Victoria Broadcast Group as a Corporate Partner of the Year. The station group has also proudly received several Lone Star Leader Awards by the Texas Association of Broadcasters.

KOAM-TV in Joplin is the four-states’ most watched news, reaching viewers in Kansas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and Missouri.

Moreover, we could not do any of this without our state-of-the-art production facilities, staffed by award-winning producers, graphic artists, video editors and photographers.